top of page

Boardwalk, Dubai Creek Golf Club - Dubai

Stick to what you know!

That’s what BTR should have done when visiting The Boardwalk at Dubai Creek Golf Club last week. Having previously enjoyed calamari as a main dish and fish and chips I thought I would try something different and opted for their burger (SHOCK!). This was one of the worst food choices I have ever made. However, I wont let my experience with “The Boardwalk Burger” fully tarnish my opinion of an establishment that is beautifully located and provides excellent seafood.

The Boardwalk Dubai Creek

Location – The Boardwalk I set on the waters front within Dubai Creek Golf and Yacht, overlooking Dubai creek. You enter through a 3 level building with Boardwalk on the ground floor. BTR was able to book a table outside, which I would fully recommend you do if your visiting from October – April when the weather is beautiful. Should you visit during the heat of summer then the inside restaurant area is very pleasant and provides a view of the fresh fish available from the menu.

Starters – As a party of 3 we opted for the calamari starter and some tzatziki. BTR has previously enjoyed the calamari and also ordered it by the gram as a main dish, with this experience living up to expectation and was really enjoyable. I hate it when calamari is either not fresh, overcooked or in a thick batter! The boardwalk provides a really well sized portion of calamari; there was enough for all 3 of us to enjoy, that is lightly battered and perfectly cooked. In addition to this we ordered some tzatziki, which was quite thick in Mrs BTR’s opinion, although I found it delicious. The only slight disappointment from the starters was that the tzatziki did not come with a fresh bread (pitta etc) and when we asked for some we were given the rosemary bread that we had eaten prior to our starters – which was nice it should be noted.

Calamari Boardwalk Dubai

Main Dishes – So here is where I made the mistake……my love for a burger finally caught up with me. I almost ordered the fish and chips, and did I mistake in not doing so! The burger patty was ok, quite thick, little bit dry – not juicy as I would expect or hoped. It came in a Mediterranean style flat bread which did not go down particular well either. However, our guest ordered the fish and chips and it looked, and tasted amazing! Well sized, quite thick batter, but not too much and some thick cut delicious chips. Mrs BTR opted for four antipasti starter dishes as her main including; Stracclatella di Buffalo, Smoked Salmon Rolls, Quino Avacado Salad and Sautéed Prawns.

Boardwalk Burger and Sweet Potato Fries
Boardwalk Burger

Dessert – BTR was torn between which desert to choose as the sticky toffee pudding, chocolate cake and crepe were all tempting, but I opted for the “Boardwalk Waffle”, which I had been informed was freshly made. It was accompanied with dulche de leche ice-cream which was very nice. Unfortunately the waffle was not fresh (in my opinion) and was not warm or soft, so slightly dissapointing.

Verdict – The boardwalk is lucky that it is set with the beautiful view of Dubai Creek, so it is very tempting to visit, especially when the weather is so beautiful to sit outside. Although BTR’s experience this time wasn’t the greatest and we were slightly disappointed with the food I will visit again. The reason for this is that the seafood is fresh and extremely good, DON’T CHOOSE THE BURGER – opt for what they are good at, seafood! The calamari starter is excellently portioned and very yummy, fish and chips is excellent…..so I suppose BTR will just have to try a different desert next time.

Check out the full video review below:

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
bottom of page